Reviews

What people are saying about Braemore Square Country House




Great place to stay - Rating 0/5

Everything perfect, welcome, room, breakfast and friendly helpful service.Plus of course the highland cattle.Will certainly stay again if I get the chance5 star rating but couldn\'t get stars to register on my device

Reviewer:Jan Ditchfield | Thu 28th Sep 2017


A hearty highland welcome - Rating 5/5

Friendly hosts, good scenery, lovely room and a great breakfast - thoroughly recommended!

Reviewer:Michael Quinn | Wed 20th Sep 2017


Excellent - Rating 5/5

I recommend this place unreservedly.We had a most comfortable, restful stay here in this beautiful historic house, where luxury country house accommodation is successfully combined with a warm, relaxed atmosphere,and the home-made yoghurt and summer berries were a delight at breakfast!

Reviewer:Ms. Fiona Sutton | Thu 7th Sep 2017


Wonderful place to be - Rating 5/5

It was an amazing Stay. Everything was very good and i will come back again

Reviewer:Philipp Moser | Thu 7th Sep 2017


great place! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Braemore Square for one night and enjoyed our room in this impressive and well maintained old building very much. From our room we had a view over the pasture of the sympathic highland cows. Everything was clean and our hosts very friendly and welcoming!

Reviewer:Mrs. Anja Zimmermann | Sun 6th Aug 2017


amazing stay - Rating 5/5

Amazing stay. Fabulous staff, especially Adam. Thank you for all the good time, chat, drink and everything. Watch out for Nacho :) Thanks again, see you hopefully soon. Matt &SuziP.S. We have tried the pebble beach, great one

Reviewer:Matej Oleriny | Sun 23rd Jul 2017


The best B&B of my trip - Rating 5/5

Superb bed and breakfast in a character house. Very friendly and available hosts who did not hesitate to take us to see their herd of pretty Scottish cows. Breakfast hearty and quality.Thanks to Lisa and Chester for having a sunny stay.Superbe chambre d\'hote dans une maison de caractere. des hotes tres sympatisues et disponibles qui n\'ont pas hesiter a nous emmener voir leur troupeau de jolies vaches ecossaises. breakfast copieux et de qualite. Merci à Lisa et Chester d\'avoir ensoleillé notre sejour. Nathalie et Franck.

Reviewer:Mr. SIMON Franck | Wed 19th Jul 2017


Wonderful accommodation! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Braemore Square for one night as we toured the NC500. We could not have picked a better B&B. The location is on the main route into Ullapool (11miles away). The property has been sympathetically refurbished by the owners - Chester and Lisa. They are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The bedrooms were bright and beautifully decorated, beds super-comfy, and the bathroom was luxurious. We even had our own snug private lounge downstairs. As someone has already stated – it’s 5 star comfort for a 3 star price.Breakfast was delicious and prepared by Chester. After a buffet of juices, cereals and fresh fruit (including home-grown berries) there was a cooked selection including a ‘full Scottish’ with free-range eggs (from Chester’s hens!) We opted for his special salmon and egg dish – a meal in itself!After breakfast, Chester introduced us to his friendly herd of highland cows where we took some great photos. Lisa and Chester were charming hosts and we would thoroughly recommend anyone travelling in the area to stay in their wonderful accommodation.

Reviewer:Ms Helen Horne | Sun 9th Jul 2017


Comfortable Stay - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were wonderfully comfortable and Adam was an exremely gracious host. Our only complaint is with the limited reach of the current wifi setup.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Fitzpatrick | Sun 9th Jul 2017


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Thanks for the great hospitality. We really enjoyed our stay. The room was fantastic, clean - we felt like home. We really recommend those B&B.

Reviewer:Mrs. Isabelle Keisers | Thu 22nd Jun 2017


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Beautifully decorated, comfortable bedroom withexcellent bathroom.Delicious breakfasts. Very welcoming and relaxing place to stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Anderson | Mon 19th Jun 2017


A Stay for one night was to short - Rating 5/5

Comfortable rooms, fantastic shower/bathroom, beautiful landscape, friendlypeople. Ifwe come back to scotland, we will stay therefor several.days.

Reviewer:Mr. Gerhard Mehltretter | Sat 17th Jun 2017


Braemore Square - Coach house - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay, will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. James Stockdale | Tue 13th Jun 2017


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Every last detail thought of. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would recommended 100%.

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian Bonnington | Sun 4th Jun 2017


Best B&B experience yet - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming hosts, fantastic room and facilities. Breakfast excellent, wouldn\'t hesitate to stay here and recommend to others.

Reviewer:Gavin Powell | Sat 3rd Jun 2017


Braemore Square - Rating 4/5

Hosts very welcoming. Rooms very comfortable, bed linen and towels of excellent quality. The log stove was lovely and the electric blankets made sure we were not cold. All in all a real find!

Reviewer:Mrs. Moraig Orton | Fri 26th May 2017


Best place to stay in Scotland - Rating 5/5

After a 14 day roadtrip through whole Scotland we can say that the stay at Breamore Square Country House was by far the best accomodation we\' ve been! We thank Chester and Lisa,who make this place so special! For everyone who loves nature is this the perfect place, so peaceful and beautiful! Take a deep breath and enjoy...All the best, Kathrin&Roland

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathrin Peters | Tue 23rd May 2017


Incredible house And breathtaking views- Rating 5/5

Lovely place to say And enjoy. The hosts where amazing And gave us a tour in their land that is a beautiful place, With the river And the waterfall And the cows... The house is beautiful And the acommodations where very. Onfortable And spotless clean. Felt at home here.

Reviewer:Ms. Marta Rato | Sat 6th May 2017


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Beautiful room, friendly attentive hosts, great knowledge of the area. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Mr. Russell Eyre | Sat 29th Apr 2017


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

This was the ideal overnight B and B for catching the ferry to Stornoway from Ullapool the next morning. Comfortable though small twin room (to be enlarged soon!)and very welcoming hosts. Ian and Gillian Macpherson

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Macpherson | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


A Gem! - Rating 5/5

We were so comfortable and made to feel so welcome! The new owners ha it all - luxurious feeling at a moderate price.

Reviewer:Ms. Beverly Boke | Thu 11th Aug 2016


Excellent stay! - Rating 5/5

This was a wonderful Hughland retreat. Very comfortable and immaculate accommodation, including the most amazing super-King bed with super-soft bed linen. Lisa and Chester couldn\'t have been more helpful, even lending us veiled hats to combat those pesky midges! We will definitely go back.

Reviewer:Miss. Rosie Staniforth | Sun 7th Aug 2016


Bedraggled cyclists - Rating 5/5

An excellent nights stay after arriving wet and weary from a long ride there. We were looked after very well by our hosts. A good full Scottish breakfast and we were on our way in the morning. The room was very nicely furnished. We would highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry Crabtree | Wed 3rd Aug 2016


excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

wonderful place to stay.We enjoyed it very much, espicially the breakfast from Chester.

Reviewer:Mr. Dirk Schoppmeier | Sun 31st Jul 2016


Great B&B - Rating 4/5

Gorgeous place in the middle of the forest close to Ullapool. The bedroom was very big and the bed giant!

Reviewer:Mr. Alvaro De diego | Thu 28th Jul 2016


Braemore Square County House - Rating 5/5

Excellent stop near Ullapool in a beautiful house in 40 acres of grounds, the house is possibly a little close to the main road, though our room was very quiet and restful. Very good facilities including a private breakfast room for each guest room and a really good breakfast to boot. Coffee machine in each room can be a little difficult to operate.The S African hosts have recently taken over the business but if current quality is maintained should do really well. Heartily recommended.

Reviewer:Dr. Philip Mellor | Sat 9th Jul 2016


Tres belle demeure - Rating 4/5

Chambre tres confortable, cadre magnifique et breakfast tres bien

Reviewer:Mr. Jean-Claude Rozier | Wed 15th Jun 2016


comeback after four years - Rating 5/5

still the same high Quality we experienced four years ago, even there are new ownerswellcoming, cosy atmosphereyou feel instantly at home

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas Schib | Mon 13th Jun 2016


A wonderful place and very nice hosts - Rating 5/5

In addition to the impressive house there are beautyful walks on the grounds along the riverside and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. Martina Leistner | Fri 14th Aug 2015


super stay - Rating 5/5

very beautiful rooms, everything is perfect (delicate touches in the rooms), the home of our host was great and the wonderful breakfast (best of our stay in Scotland!). Do not hesitate to make the 12 km from Ullapool, it\'s worth it!

Reviewer:Mr. sylvie coppere | Wed 12th Aug 2015


You will not find better places to stay in Scotland - Rating 5/5

Friendly hosts. Nice, clean and spacious room.Beautifull, quiet environment. What more can you wish for? Definitely a place to return to.Diny and Martin Arkesteijn, Holland.

Reviewer:Mr. Martin Arkesteijn | Wed 29th Jul 2015


Notre opinion - Rating 5/5

Superbe maison,facile à trouver. Magnifique mobilier et décoration soignée. Accueil très chaleureux .Equipements sanitaires de qualité.Breakfast fabuleux.La gentillesse et l\'humour des propriétaires en plus!L\'un des deux meilleurs B&B de notre séjour en Ecosse.A recommander!

Reviewer:Mr. Jean-MarieBoistard | Thu 9th Jul 2015


Everything we required and more. - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable stay in this lovely building. Our hosts could not have been more helpful. We particularly appreciated the use of a kitchen to enable us to self cater on evenings when we did not want to drive in to Ullapool. The selection of food for breakfast was outstanding.

Response

I was nice to meet you and Neil and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Braemore. Amazing that you managed to keep dry on your lovely walk and trips around the beautiful area when we got wet! Enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith Neil | Wed 10th Jun 2015


A warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Located about 10 or so miles south of Ullapool, Braemore Square is a haven of peace.Great hosts. Wonderful breakfast. Very comfortable room. We bought food to prepare in the self catering kitchen made available to B&B guests. Otherwise it would be a drive back into Ullapool. Best option.We would return if in the area again.

Response

Thank youfor your kind comments. We are pleased that you found the little kitchen useful.It does save a drive into Ullapool and it means that youcan relax and enjoya drink. Haste ye back!

Reviewer:Dr. Michael Jackson | Sun 7th Jun 2015


Excellent accommodation and hosting - Rating 5/5

A welcome oasis in a cold Scottish spring, warm evening lounge, papers and books to read and access to a guest kitchen to self cater if, like us, you need to. Hosts could not be more helpful and everything spotless and breakfasts the best we have ever had in the UK. Great location to explore the North west of Scotland on day trips. Would return.

Response

It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels and Morgan is feeling better from his cold..

Reviewer:Dr. Pamela Williams | Fri 29th May 2015


Cosy, atmospheric place nestled in glorious countryside - Rating 5/5

The scent of birch burning on the log fire, a quick riverside walk amidst autumn trees and two wonderful hosts welcomed us to this lovely place. Wendy and Ed made our stay feel like a home from home. Ed gave us loads of good advice on a stunning loch-side walk between the mountains. This was my favourite stop on our long and wide tour. The nearby gorge is spectacular too!

Response

Thank you for your kind review. The autumn is our favourite time of the year , with cosy fires and the colours of the scenery is stunning. We are please that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewer:Ms. Lindie Heeralall | Tue 18th Nov 2014


Beautiful location- Rating 4/5

only positive things to say - enjoyable stay - interesting and welcoming hosts - would stay again - use of kitchen is nice feature we did not use but appreciated the possibility - guests lounge a plus.

Reviewer:Mr. RichardBlack | Wed 27th Aug 2014


paradise!!!! - Rating 5/5

all beautiful!!! thank you very much!!! i hope to return soon as possibile!!!

Response

Thank you so very much- it was great to meet you both from sunny Italy! Hast ye back!

Reviewer:Mr. Stefano Bosotti | Tue 26th Aug 2014


Almost home - Rating 5/5

As we're traveling across Scotland for 2 weeks we've selectedBraemore Square Country House for 2 nights and our host nearly succeeded in giving us a ' at home' feeling.Very comfortable beds and Breakfast above expectation;large lounge to relax and enjoy a local drink with other tourists...Would for sure recommend to others.A bit remote ( 10 Miles below Ullapool) but for a short stop no problem

Response

We always try to make our guests feel at home, so we are pleased that the Verhelst family enjoyed their stay. Braemore is only 15 minutes drive Ullapool, a good central location to travel north and south to embrace the Highlands.

Reviewer:Mr. Franky Verhelst | Sun 24th Aug 2014


5 - Rating 5/5

sehr schöner Aufenthalt, extrem nette Gastgeber, wundervolle Zimmer, Frühstück spitze, selbstgemachter Honig !war einfach super

Response

Große Gäste. Danke!It was lovely to meet you and your family and that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Haste ye Back!

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Foramitti | Sat 23rd Aug 2014


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Self Catering
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Lakeside
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat