Reviews

What people are saying about Braemore Square Country House




Quiet & Relaxing - Rating 5/5

We spent 3 quiet days at Braemore Square.The Coach House was newly renovated and very comfortable with easy access toUllapool and the surrounding countryside.We loved the Highland cattle at the estate.

Reviewer:James J H | Sat 28th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


As we were at home - Rating 5/5

From the first moment we received all the attention and information we needed.We were pleased with the oldhouse and its history, the modern rooms, the settings, landscapes and gardens , activities at the village, theEnglish breakfast with quality products and very generous portions (where they got for me gluten-free food as I had requested before).But most of all, the members of the family were very kind, helpful and really nice.Thank you for the experience and all your attention.Biel and Maria

Reviewer:Maria Morey M | Mon 26th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Great appartments - Rating 5/5

We were travelling with my mum and hired two appartments. Well furnished and very comfortable. Ideal location to explore Ullapool, Inverewe Gardens and the stunning countryside round about. Thank you.

Reviewer:Iain M | Fri 16th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Lynn\'s review - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, friendly host,superb accomodation. Thanks

Reviewer:Lynn S | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Holiday at Braemore Country House - Rating 5/5

Everything was perfect ! We stayed three days. The house is very cosy and well equipped and breakfast was also great.

Reviewer:Marcus W | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Perfect Base - Rating 5/5

Lisa and Chester have created the perfect base to explore the Highlands. The self-catering apartment had everything we needed and lots of Scottish touches.

Reviewer:Leanne C | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


We all enjoyed our few days at Braemore Square Country House - Rating 5/5

4 of us stayed in one of the self catering apartments - it was very well furnished and had everything we needed for our stay, the setting was enjoyable, especially the river and the hills around,also it was very convenient for Ullapool

Reviewer:sue s | Thu 27th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


nice Appartment near Ullapool - Rating 5/5

very confortable self catering Apartment

Reviewer:Marion B | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Braemore- Rating 4/5

A perfect place to stay after our camping and walking trip. We were very grateful for the washing machine and a place to dry our tent!

Reviewer:Celia M | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Peaceful retreat- Rating 4/5

Very well equipped apartment.Very quiet with access to farm, fields and river.15 minute drive to Ullapool on good road. Make sure you visit Corrieshallock Gorge onlythree minutes drive away .

Reviewer:Steven R | Fri 21st Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Very friendly staff and owners - Rating 5/5

Braemore Square is a luxurious place to stay;our suite of rooms had every feature you could want. Lots to do in the surrounding area, in addition to the fabulous walking.What sets Braemore Square apart, however, is the very friendly welcome and service from the staff and owners.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:james e | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


lovely place to stay with charming host family - Rating 5/5

lovely flat with nice living area which invites to rest also when weather is not so nice. We very much appreciated the unhanging of our laundry when it was starting to rain, fresh eggs that we were allowed to collect ourselves for breakfast, tasty rosé wine as welcome for our longer stay. We would return any time and warmly recommend!

Reviewer:Gabriela R | Tue 11th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

An extremely well appointed apartment in a great setting- quiet, comfortable,restful and convenient to Ullapool. Wish we could have stayed longer. Hope to return in the future.

Reviewer:Heather S | Tue 28th May 2019 | 6 months ago


GAOOD STAY - Rating 5/5

Great place, helpful staff. One thing:a few logs would have been nice, as it was lousy weather!Yours John and Rindy Simpson.

Reviewer:JOHN S | Mon 27th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Splendid Tranquility - Rating 5/5

Comfortable and super clean room and bathroom. Beautifully located with various nice places to visit closely located. Very friendly staff and owners who make you feel at home. Great freshly cooked breakfast to start the day.

Reviewer:Erik B | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 6 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Braemore Square. We were warmly greeted by our hosts and show to our apartment. The accommodation was large and cosy with everything we needed for self catering. Loved being able to collect fresh eggs for breakfast from the properties resident chickens.

Reviewer:Kim H | Tue 21st May 2019 | 6 months ago


Great B+B - Rating 5/5

Stayed here to be closer to work than Inverness, fantastic location and facilities.We will be returning 😎

Reviewer:Michael P | Sun 19th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Top quality apartment- Rating 5/5

We stayed for 4 nights. The apartment was beautifully decorated and very well stocked. This was one of the nicest apartments that we have stayed in. Lisa and Chester were also very welcoming. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them and any queries were immediately tackled. The icing on the cake was being able to get eggs straight from their lovely hens for a contribution to the honesty box. Freshest eggs we've ever had! Brilliant!

Reviewer:Peter S | Fri 10th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent Accommodation in a beautiful location - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the Stables for a week and were so impressed with the accommodation. Everything there that you could possibly need for your stay. Everything is such high quality and Lisa's style is wonderful. The wallpaper is so unusual but magnificant.We highly recommend this beautiful place and we do hope we can return in the future maybe at a differnet time of year.

Reviewer:Carol P | Sun 5th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Perfect, friendly, quiet - Rating 5/5

Braemore Square is perfect - you feel more like visiting friends. Personal touch, great house and great cows. The breakfast is excellent.

Reviewer:Corinna K | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Wonderful accommodation - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Braemore Square Country House. Our hosts cooked us a delicious breakfast and we were allowed to roam all over their beautiful acreage. The room was elegantly comfortable and our hosts were very friendly and informative about the area.

Reviewer:Laurel G | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight at Braemore Square - Rating 5/5

A really pleasurable stay, the quality of the room, decor, clanliness, and hospitality of Chester were all first class. Being close to Ulllapool was also a major plus, and just added to an overall excellent stay.

Reviewer:Tony B | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Country charm near Ullapool - Rating 5/5

A beautiful location only 15 minutes out of Ullapool. This old refurbished property is very comfortable. The scenery is spectacular and the animals on their farm at beautiful. Those highland cows are amazing. Our booking was for an apartment with a full kitchen so we headed back into town to pick up some food to cook for dinner and had a great relax cooking for ourselves and relaxing. A great break from restaurant food.

Reviewer:Michael O | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Wonderful Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

What a nice experience to spend a night in a castle. Accommodatons were lovely and the food very good

Reviewer:Eleanore D | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Everything was perfect! Chester and his family are very friendly and the breakfast was very good! The room was nice and quiet and the view behind the house is amazing. Ullapool is not far and you can do a lot of things around. We would come back!

Reviewer:Michaela G | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Scotland round trip - Rating 5/5

Very nice serene location with newly renovated rooms. We appreciated the clean and quiet rooms as well as the very friendly people at this classic estate. We've got served with a lovely breakfast by the owner family. Perfect location for a round trip in Scotland near Ullapool.

Reviewer:Hermann B | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Superb.- Rating 5/5

Lovely setting with clean comfortable accommodation. Great hosts, perfect breakfast..

Reviewer:Anthony I | Tue 5th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful overnight stay at Braemore Square, from the warm welcome, beautiful room and excellent breakfast. We highly recommend this country house.

Reviewer:| Wed 9th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Braemore is awesome!- Rating 5/5

We had the loveliest stay at braemore. Lisa and Chester are the best host, very kind and accommodating. My children enjoyed the farm animals especially the heeland coo. We would definitely recommend and would really love to come back.

Reviewer:Jayme L | Sat 5th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay - Rating 0/5

Everything perfect, welcome, room, breakfast and friendly helpful service.Plus of course the highland cattle.Will certainly stay again if I get the chance5 star rating but couldn't get stars to register on my device

Reviewer:Jan D | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


A hearty highland welcome - Rating 5/5

Friendly hosts, good scenery, lovely room and a great breakfast - thoroughly recommended!

Reviewer:Michael Q | Wed 20th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

I recommend this place unreservedly.We had a most comfortable, restful stay here in this beautiful historic house, where luxury country house accommodation is successfully combined with a warm, relaxed atmosphere,and the home-made yoghurt and summer berries were a delight at breakfast!

Reviewer:Ms. Fiona S | Thu 7th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Wonderful place to be - Rating 5/5

It was an amazing Stay. Everything was very good and i will come back again

Reviewer:Philipp M | Thu 7th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


great place! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Braemore Square for one night and enjoyed our room in this impressive and well maintained old building very much. From our room we had a view over the pasture of the sympathic highland cows. Everything was clean and our hosts very friendly and welcoming!

Reviewer:Mrs. Anja Z | Sun 6th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


amazing stay - Rating 5/5

Amazing stay. Fabulous staff, especially Adam. Thank you for all the good time, chat, drink and everything. Watch out for Nacho :) Thanks again, see you hopefully soon. Matt &SuziP.S. We have tried the pebble beach, great one

Reviewer:Matej O | Sun 23rd Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


The best B&B of my trip - Rating 5/5

Superb bed and breakfast in a character house. Very friendly and available hosts who did not hesitate to take us to see their herd of pretty Scottish cows. Breakfast hearty and quality.Thanks to Lisa and Chester for having a sunny stay.Superbe chambre d'hote dans une maison de caractere. des hotes tres sympatisues et disponibles qui n'ont pas hesiter a nous emmener voir leur troupeau de jolies vaches ecossaises. breakfast copieux et de qualite.Merci à Lisa et Chester d'avoir ensoleillé notre sejour.Nathalie et Franck.

Reviewer:Mr. SIMON F | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Wonderful accommodation! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Braemore Square for one night as we toured the NC500. We could not have picked a better B&B. The location is on the main route into Ullapool (11miles away). The property has been sympathetically refurbished by the owners - Chester and Lisa. They are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The bedrooms were bright and beautifully decorated, beds super-comfy, and the bathroom was luxurious. We even had our own snug private lounge downstairs. As someone has already stated – it’s 5 star comfort for a 3 star price.Breakfast was delicious and prepared by Chester. After a buffet of juices, cereals and fresh fruit (including home-grown berries) there was a cooked selection including a ‘full Scottish’ with free-range eggs (from Chester’s hens!) We opted for his special salmon and egg dish – a meal in itself!After breakfast, Chester introduced us to his friendly herd of highland cows where we took some great photos. Lisa and Chester were charming hosts and we would thoroughly recommend anyone travelling in the area to stay in their wonderful accommodation.

Reviewer:Ms Helen H | Sun 9th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Comfortable Stay - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were wonderfully comfortable and Adam was an exremely gracious host. Our only complaint is with the limited reach of the current wifi setup.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael F | Sun 9th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Thanks for the great hospitality. We really enjoyed our stay. The room was fantastic, clean - we felt like home. We really recommend those B&B.

Reviewer:Mrs. Isabelle K | Thu 22nd Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Beautifully decorated, comfortable bedroom withexcellent bathroom.Delicious breakfasts. Very welcoming and relaxing place to stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan A | Mon 19th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


A Stay for one night was to short - Rating 5/5

Comfortable rooms, fantastic shower/bathroom, beautiful landscape, friendlypeople. Ifwe come back to scotland, we will stay therefor several.days.

Reviewer:Mr. Gerhard M | Sat 17th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Braemore Square - Coach house - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay, will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. James S | Tue 13th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Every last detail thought of. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would recommended 100%.

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian B | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Best B&B experience yet - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming hosts, fantastic room and facilities. Breakfast excellent, wouldn't hesitate to stay here and recommend to others.

Reviewer:Gavin P | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Braemore Square - Rating 4/5

Hosts very welcoming. Rooms very comfortable, bed linen and towels of excellent quality. The log stove was lovely and the electric blankets made sure we were not cold. All in all a real find!

Reviewer:Mrs. Moraig O | Fri 26th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Best place to stay in Scotland - Rating 5/5

After a 14 day roadtrip through whole Scotland we can say that the stay at Breamore Square Country House was by far the best accomodation we' ve been! We thank Chester and Lisa,who make this place so special! For everyone who loves nature is this the perfect place, so peaceful and beautiful! Take a deep breath and enjoy...All the best, Kathrin&Roland

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathrin P | Tue 23rd May 2017 | 2 years ago


Incredible house And breathtaking views- Rating 5/5

Lovely place to say And enjoy. The hosts where amazing And gave us a tour in their land that is a beautiful place, With the river And the waterfall And the cows... The house is beautiful And the acommodations where very. Onfortable And spotless clean. Felt at home here.

Reviewer:Ms. Marta R | Sat 6th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Beautiful room, friendly attentive hosts, great knowledge of the area. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Mr. Russell E | Sat 29th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

This was the ideal overnight B and B for catching the ferry to Stornoway from Ullapool the next morning. Comfortable though small twin room (to be enlarged soon!)and very welcoming hosts.Ian and Gillian Macpherson

Reviewer:Mr. Ian M | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


A Gem! - Rating 5/5

We were so comfortable and made to feel so welcome! The new owners ha it all - luxurious feeling at a moderate price.

Reviewer:Ms. Beverly B | Thu 11th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent stay! - Rating 5/5

This was a wonderful Hughland retreat. Very comfortable and immaculate accommodation, including the most amazing super-King bed with super-soft bed linen. Lisa and Chester couldn't have been more helpful, even lending us veiled hats to combat those pesky midges! We will definitely go back.

Reviewer:Miss. Rosie S | Sun 7th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Bedraggled cyclists - Rating 5/5

An excellent nights stay after arriving wet and weary from a long ride there. We were looked after very well by our hosts. A good full Scottish breakfast and we were on our way in the morning. The room was very nicely furnished. We would highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry C | Wed 3rd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

wonderful place to stay.We enjoyed it very much, espicially thebreakfast from Chester.

Reviewer:Mr. Dirk S | Sun 31st Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 4/5

Gorgeous place in the middle of the forest close to Ullapool. The bedroom was very big and the bed giant!

Reviewer:Mr. Alvaro De d | Thu 28th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Braemore Square County House - Rating 5/5

Excellent stop near Ullapool in a beautiful house in 40 acres of grounds, the house is possibly a little close to the main road, though our room was very quiet and restful. Very good facilities including a private breakfast room for each guest room and a really good breakfast to boot. Coffee machine in each room can be a little difficult to operate.The S African hosts have recently taken over the business but if current quality is maintained should do really well. Heartily recommended.

Reviewer:Dr. Philip M | Sat 9th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Tres belle demeure - Rating 4/5

Chambre tres confortable, cadre magnifique et breakfast tres bien

Reviewer:Mr. Jean-Claude R | Wed 15th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


comeback after four years - Rating 5/5

still the same high Quality we experienced four years ago, even there are new ownerswellcoming, cosy atmosphereyou feel instantly at home

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas S | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


A wonderful place and very nice hosts - Rating 5/5

In addition to the impressive house there are beautyful walks on the grounds along the riverside and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. Martina L | Fri 14th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


super stay - Rating 5/5

very beautiful rooms, everything is perfect (delicate touches in the rooms), the home of our host was great and the wonderful breakfast (best of our stay in Scotland!). Do not hesitate to make the 12 km from Ullapool, it's worth it!

Reviewer:Mr. sylvie c | Wed 12th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


You will not find better places to stay in Scotland - Rating 5/5

Friendly hosts. Nice, clean and spacious room.Beautifull, quiet environment. What more can you wish for? Definitely a place to return to.Diny and Martin Arkesteijn, Holland.

Reviewer:Mr. Martin A | Wed 29th Jul 2015 | 4 years ago


Notre opinion - Rating 5/5

Superbe maison,facile à trouver. Magnifique mobilier et décoration soignée. Accueil très chaleureux .Equipements sanitaires de qualité.Breakfast fabuleux.La gentillesse et l'humour des propriétaires en plus!L'un des deux meilleurs B&B de notre séjour en Ecosse.A recommander!

Reviewer:Mr. Jean-MarieB | Thu 9th Jul 2015 | 4 years ago


Everything we required and more. - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable stay in this lovely building. Our hosts could not have been more helpful. We particularly appreciated the use of a kitchen to enable us to self cater on evenings when we did not want to drive in to Ullapool. The selection of food for breakfast was outstanding.

Response

I was nice to meet you and Neil and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Braemore. Amazing that you managed to keep dry on your lovely walk and trips around the beautiful area when we got wet! Enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith N | Wed 10th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


A warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Located about 10 or so miles south of Ullapool, Braemore Square is a haven of peace.Great hosts. Wonderful breakfast. Very comfortable room. We bought food to prepare in the self catering kitchen made available to B&B guests. Otherwise it would be a drive back into Ullapool. Best option.We would return if in the area again.

Response

Thank youfor your kind comments. We are pleased that you found the little kitchen useful.It does save a drive into Ullapool and it means that youcan relax and enjoya drink. Haste ye back!

Reviewer:Dr. Michael J | Sun 7th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent accommodation and hosting - Rating 5/5

A welcome oasis in a cold Scottish spring, warm evening lounge, papers and books to read and access to a guest kitchen to self cater if, like us, you need to. Hosts could not be more helpful and everything spotless and breakfasts the best we have ever had in the UK. Great location to explore the North west of Scotland on day trips. Would return.

Response

It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels and Morgan is feeling better from his cold..

Reviewer:Dr. Pamela W | Fri 29th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Cosy, atmospheric place nestled in glorious countryside - Rating 5/5

The scent of birch burning on the log fire, a quick riverside walk amidst autumn trees and two wonderful hosts welcomed us to this lovely place. Wendy and Ed made our stay feel like a home from home. Ed gave us loads of good advice on a stunning loch-side walk between the mountains. This was my favourite stop on our long and wide tour. The nearby gorge is spectacular too!

Response

Thank you for your kind review. The autumn is our favourite time of the year , with cosy fires and the colours of the scenery is stunning. We are please that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewer:Ms. Lindie H | Tue 18th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Beautiful location- Rating 4/5

only positive things to say - enjoyable stay - interesting and welcoming hosts - would stay again - use of kitchen is nice feature we did not use but appreciated the possibility - guests lounge a plus.

Reviewer:Mr. RichardB | Wed 27th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


paradise!!!! - Rating 5/5

all beautiful!!! thank you very much!!! i hope to return soon as possibile!!!

Response

Thank you so very much- it was great to meet you both from sunny Italy! Hast ye back!

Reviewer:Mr. Stefano B | Tue 26th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Almost home - Rating 5/5

As we're traveling across Scotland for 2 weeks we've selectedBraemore Square Country House for 2 nights and our host nearly succeeded in giving us a ' at home' feeling.Very comfortable beds and Breakfast above expectation;large lounge to relax and enjoy a local drink with other tourists...Would for sure recommend to others.A bit remote ( 10 Miles below Ullapool) but for a short stop no problem

Response

We always try to make our guests feel at home, so we are pleased that the Verhelst family enjoyed their stay. Braemore is only 15 minutes drive Ullapool, a good central location to travel north and south to embrace the Highlands.

Reviewer:Mr. Franky V | Sun 24th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


5 - Rating 5/5

sehr schöner Aufenthalt, extrem nette Gastgeber, wundervolle Zimmer, Frühstück spitze, selbstgemachter Honig !war einfach super

Response

Große Gäste. Danke!It was lovely to meet you and your family and that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Haste ye Back!

Reviewer:Mr. Michael F | Sat 23rd Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Self Catering
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Lakeside
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat